Cobweb News 11: 13.4.16

Dear all,
I hope you’re all looking forward to returning to your group sessions and that those of you who were at Sedbergh had a great time, I’ve heard brilliant things about it, so well done to all those who took part!
In this week’s news:

  • Quotes from Sedbergh
  • Whitehaven Concert
  • Brahms 1
  • Feedback<.li>

Quotes and photos from Sedbergh:
There was some lovely feedback form Sedbergh, I thought it nice to share with you all!

“Just to say thank you, brilliant from start to finish, the first, I hope, of many”
“awesome weekend, exactly what I needed”
“Great weekend with lovely atmosphere – Well done to all who organised it and took part.”
“My favourite Sedbergh weekend yet. Thanks everyone for the fabulous music making and excellent company”
“Fabulous weekend in Sedbergh with lots of lovely people and loads of varied music (some more challenging than others!). Thanks to everyone involved, and looking forward to next year already!”
“What a weekend! We nearly filled Powell Hall at Sedburgh School. About 70 players were guided and encouraged through the very challenging music of Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances , Wagner’s Symphony in C by Andy , Patrick and Roland. Thanks to them and Anita plus all the others involved!”

Here’s ‘Have a Go Conducting’ (Well done Maggie!)
Full orchestra:
Whitehaven Concert
Cobweb Orchestra in Concert
Sunday 17th April
1.30 – 5pm Rehearsal, Concert at 6pm
Whitehaven Civic Hall, 75 Lowther Street, Whitehaven, CA26 7SH

**Call for Strings and Oboes!!**
We would love to have a few more of the above people at this concert, to ensure the best balance possible for a concert. Please do consider signing up and let me know as soon as possible. If you have signed up with Peter or Michael, please do let me know too!
Join Peter Wood for a concert in Whitehaven with soloist Michael Rusman (clarinet). We’ll be performing popular accessible classics; Beethoven – Egmont Overture, Mozart – Clarinet Concerto, Schubert Symphony No. 4 (tragic) and more.
Members £10
Non Members £14
The enrolment form with more information is here.
Brahms 1
Study Day: Brahms Symphony No. 1 with Chris Griffiths
Saturday 30th April
11am – 4pm
Ludworth Community Centre, 2 North View, Ludworth, Durham, DH6 1NF

Don’t miss this second chance to get to grips with Brahams Symphony No.1 with Royal Northern Sinfonia’s Chris Griffiths.
The day will run from 11-4 and we will enjoy a shared lunch.
Members £10
Non Members £13
Enrolment form can be found here
The Trustees have agreed that a feedback mechanism should be introduced and installed on the website, and that Jim Hoggett would collate and act upon any feedback received. The website link is now live (with thanks to Colin for this) and available for participants in any Cobweb activity to use if they wish. Click on the “Feedback” button on the website header line and follow the instructions. For those who don’t have access to the web, hard copies of the feedback form will be available at major events.
That’s all for this week, enjoy the concert this weekend, I hope it goes really well.
Best wishes,
Event Co-ordinator, Cobweb Orchestra

Posted by Lorna Wright