Cobweb News

In this weeks Cobweb News:
Haydn Symphonies Project part 14
Sedbergh Residential
Cobweb Orchestra Study Day: Elgar Cello Concerto with Gemma Kost (cello)
Cobweb Orchestra Study Day: Strauss Aus Italien with Matthias Lichtenfeld

Haydn Symphonies Project – part 14 with Peter Wood
Saturday 25th January, 11-4pm
Wylam Institute, Church Road, Wylam, NE41 8AP

Members £12.50, Non Members £17.00

Shared lunch

We have now looked at 73 symphonies and remain on schedule to complete this project in April 2021.  We will be resuming our journey in 1779, the year of the fire at Esterhaza, and will conclude this session looking at two of the Paris Symphonies:

Symphonies 70, 75, 63 (La Roxelane), 73 (La Chassse), 82 (L’Ours) and 86

All of these symphonies have parts for flute, oboes, bassoons, horns, trumpets, timps and strings. clarinets are welcome to join us and oboe parts transposed for B flat clarinets will be available.

To enrol using the online enrolment form, please click here
To download a paper enrolment form, please click here


Sedbergh Residential
5pm Friday 3rd to 4pm Sunday 5th April

This will be our 14th Sedbergh Residential Weekend which is the Cobweb Orchestra’s biggest event of the year.  Traditionally, it is full of orchestral playing but people still find time to eat, socialise and squeeze in the odd bit of ensemble playing. There is always an interesting and extensive repertoire to work at during the weekend with a variety of tutors and special guests to ensure we get the most out of the chosen pieces. We change and refine the timetable within the basic pattern every year so each weekend is unique, but our aim of playing as much orchestral music as we can in a limited time to the very best of our ability remains.

Accommodation at Sedbergh is in one of the boarding houses with plenty of single or shared rooms available. You can choose to be a resident with all meals provided or a non-resident with some or no meals. This year we have the option of use of a larger dining room, so can accommodate all those who wish to take meals whether they are resident or not.

This year the prices have had to increase due to changes to Sedbergh who are also now charging VAT.

Prices are £190 (shared) or £197.50 (single) for 2 nights full board. Meals for non-residents – lunch £16.50 (S or S); dinner £21.50 (F or S); music £9/£33/ £28 (F or S or S). Non resident (all meals exc b/fast + music all days) £146

If you would like to have more information about the Sedbergh Residential please do get in touch by email or by telephone 07905684537.

The Sedbergh Residential is always a very popular event so please book early to avoid disappointment by completing the booking form downloadable here OR book online by clicking here and return with a non-refundable £30pp deposit by Sunday 2nd February.


Cobweb Orchestra Study Day: Elgar Cello Concerto with Gemma Kost (cello)
Sunday 1st March, 2-6pm

St George’s Church, Bridge Street, Morpeth, Northumberland, NE61 1PD

Members £12.50, Non Members £17.00

We look forward to visiting the new Morpeth group venue.

To enrol online please click here
To download a paper copy please click here


Cobweb Orchestra Study Day: Strauss Aus Italien with Matthias Lichtenfeld
Saturday 21st March, 11-4pm 
Haxby Memorial Hall, 16 The Village, Haxby, York. YO32 3HT

Members £12.50, Non Members £17.00
I’m Matthias Lichtenfeld, conductor and viola player from Germany, living now in Durham. At Durham University I started a PhD and am involved in teaching conducting with the composer and module leader James Weeks.Coming from Munich and loving Italy (its only some hours on the other side of the Alps) I thought Richard Strauss’s first tone poem “From Italy” would be a brilliant piece to experience. The four movements illustrate in a wonderful way the variety of Strauss’s early composition style of “program symphonic” and you can hear already his path to his great character pieces of his later years. As conductor it is a pleasure to create the great variety of sounds of this piece together with the orchestra and discover the amazingly rich harmonics throughout the four very different movements. I’m looking very much forward to going on this journey through Italy with the sounds of Richard Strauss together with the Cobweb Orchestra. See you all in March. 
Best musical wishes,

To download an enrolment form, please click here
To enrol online, please click here

Posted by Tracy Reed