Cobweb News 23: 22/10/2015

Dear all,
We had a great event last Sunday in Newbiggin looking at Mendelssohn Symphony No.3, many thanks to all who came and to Mark for leading us through. Congratulations also to those who have played at the Wallsend Town Hall Prison Cells today, I look forward to seeing photos!
**Upcoming Events**
Study Day: Brahms Symphony No. 1 with Chris Griffiths
Saturday 31 October, 11 – 4pm
Morpeth Methodist Church, Howard Terrace, Morpeth, NE61 1HU
Members: £10
Non Members: £13
Join Chris Griffiths in his final instalment of Brahms Symphonies – finishing with Symphony No.1. Arguably he’s saved the best till last, so don’t miss out on working with Chris on this fantastic symphony.
The day will be a full day, with a shared lunch so please do feel free to contribute!
Also, please don’t forget your music stands and the enrolment form is available on the event webpage.
Again, I won’t be able to make this event so please can you pay by cheque or BACS beforehand.
Study Day: Everyone can play Mozart with Andy Jackson
Saturday 21 November, 1.30 – 7pm
The Barbour Room, Sage Gateshead, Gateshead, NE8 2JR
Join us for a fantastic day devoted to the music of Mozart: We’ll be playing ‘The Magic Flute’ overture, the ‘Haffner’ symphony and the clarinet concerto with soloist Tracy Reed.
Players of all instruments and all levels of experience are welcome. The day will finish with an informal performance for friends and family at 6pm.
There’s no enrolment form for this one as you need to book via Sage Gateshead directly either by calling the box office on 0191 443 4661 or by visiting the website:
However, please do let me know if you’re intending to go, or have booked on as we’ll need to know how much of each music parts to bring.
You do not need to bring your own music stand, this will be provided.
Cobweb Orchestra in Concert with Andy Jackson, featuring Alison Gill (piano)
Sunday 6 December, Rehearsal 2-6pm, Concert 7.15pm
Sage Two, Sage Gateshead, Gateshead, NE8 2JR
Participation Fee:
Members £12
Non Members £16
Rossini Overture to The Barber of Seville
Grieg Piano Concerto in A minor Op. 16
Michael Betteridge Underground Suite
Schubert Symphony No. 8 in B minor “Unfinished”
Join us for the annual concert at Sage Gateshead, featuring the premiere of Michael Betteridge’s complete Underground Suite as well as Grieg Piano Concerto with the wonderful Alison Gill.
Places for this concert are extremely limited because of space and the need for a balance so please enrol quickly to secure your place.
Enrolment form can be found on the event webpage.
If you would like info on the concert for potential audience members, please see the Sage Gatehsead website here:
Remember, if you’re intending to perform, you need to pay Cobwebs, if you’re an audience member you pay Sage Gateshead.
That’s all from me this week, I hope you all have a lovely half term.
Best wishes,
Event Co-ordinator, Cobweb Orchestra

Posted by Lorna Wright