Cobweb News 33: 01/11/16

Dear all,
We had a fantastic day with Peter Wood in the second instalment of the Haydn Symphonies series. Well done to all those who took part! We’re looking forward to collaborating with Silver Breves to perform Haydn’s Creation on Saturday, I do hope you can come support us in that if you’re not playing, the concert begins at 6pm.

In this weeks’ Cobweb News:
– Strauss Horn Concerto with Chris Griffiths
– Bartok Concerto for Orchestra with Mark Edwards
– Cobweb Orchestra in Concert – please support us!

Strauss Horn Concerto Study Day with Chris Griffiths
Sunday 20th November
Storey Park Community Centre, St. Marys Field,
Morpeth, NE61 2QF
Join Chris Griffiths in a Study Day looking at two great works: Strauss Horn Concerto No. 1 and Borodin Prince Igor Overture.
The Strauss Concerto no 1 for horn and orchestra was written by the composer, amazingly in his late teens, for his father, professional french horn player Franz Joseph.
Franz Strauss admired Mozart above all, detesting his own contemporary, Wagner. Richard Strauss was still under this classical influence of his father’s when he wrote the concerto.
As an extra piece to include in the study day, I thought that the Borodin Overture Prince Igor would be rather fun. It also features the 1st horn, in a 2nd subject melody of considerable virtuosity…
Members £9
Non Members £12
Enrolment form can be found here.

Bartok Concerto for Orchestra Study Day with Mark Edwards
Sunday 27th November
Sage Gateshead, Gateshead, NE8 2JR
1.30 – 7pm
Join conductor Mark Edwards for a chance to get to grips with one of the most exciting works in the 20th century repertoire! An afternoon of rehearsing followed by a presentation for friends and relatives at 6pm.
To join this one please sign up at Sage Gateshead Box Office on 0191 443 4661, or by clicking this link:
Please do let me know that you’re coming though so we can be sure we have enough music!
This is our last study day of 2016 so don’t miss it!

Cobweb Orchestra in Concert – please support us!
Sunday 13 November, 7.15pm
Sage Gateshead, Gateshead, NE8 2JR
Do come support the orchestra as we play a concert of French Music, featuring soloist Rebecca Mills. The tickets are £10/£8 and available from Sage Gateshead Box Office on 0191 443 4661 or by clicking this link:

That’s all for this week, see those of you that are playing there on Saturday!
Best wishes,
Event Co-ordinator, Cobweb Orchestra

Posted by Lorna Wright