Cobweb Orchestra Musical Book Club

8th April 2021 @ 7:00 pm – 8:00 pm
Lorna Wright

Grieg Peer Gynt Suite no. 1 op.46

A few regular bookclubbers have been asking for something slower, so I’ve chosen this suite of pieces assembled from the incidental music to Ibsen’s eponymous play.

The suite starts with the atmospheric (and very gently paced) “Morning Mood” and continues with a couple of pieces at a very comfortable tempo until the final tempestuous “In the Hall of the Mountain King”, but even this only really speeds up at the end.

Numbers two and three “Aase’s Death” and “Anitra’s Dance” are for strings only, but it would be a shame to miss them out, so can I suggest a few ways for wind players to be involved?

1) Download the score and use the opportunity to do some score reading. You’ll notice all sorts of things that you miss when you’re concentrating on your own part, and if you’re not an experienced reader, then string orchestra scores are a good place to start as there are not too many staves to follow.

2) Flutes and oboes – download a violin part for those movements and play along. Bassoons – download a cello part and do likewise.

3) All – download the triangle part and join in “Anitra’s Dance” playing something appropriate from your kitchen.

We’ll be using the Peters 1888 edition, and there are transposed parts available for trumpets, horns and clarinets if you scroll down the page.

Here is the link: