Cobweb Orchestra Study Day: A Concerto within a Symphony

20th October 2019 @ 2:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Eldon Community Centre
Main Road
Bishop Auckland DL14 8XB
Lorna Wright
A Concerto within a Symphony
Eldon Community Centre

Sunday Oct 20
2:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Suggestions from players for their favourite solos within the orchestra repertoire has created the following wonderful programme for a day’s playing at Eldon.
Rossini Overture to William Tell (solo cello: Mary Rawson)
Tchaikovsky Andante from 5th symphony (solo horns: Jenny Gibb, Sue Baker)
Puccini E lucevan le stelle from Tosca (solo clarinet: Liz Charles)
Schubert Andante from 9th symphony (solo oboe: Elizabeth Simms)
Rachmaninov Slow movement from 2nd symphony (clarinet solo: Tracy Reed)
We have the soloists – now we need an orchestra to join them. All the pieces are for full symphony orchestra and everyone will be kept busy the whole day. 
There are some wonderful featured passages for other instruments too. The Rossini alone needs 4 more cellos plus 2 double basses and has significant solos for flute, cor anglais and trumpet. Tchaikovsky’s Andante has important clarinet and bassoon parts and trombones are essential for the Schubert.
To enrol online, please click here
To download a paper copy, please click here